Dear Toby (4/1/14),

Dear Toby (4/1/14),

Hey little man. First off I hope that you are well when you are reading this. Every parent wants their child to be happy and free from strife but I know too well that’s almost impossible. I think that the very best one can hope for is that their child is well. By well I mean of a sound mind and body and that you have the capabilities to deal with whatever comes your way. It’s been pretty amazing to watch you grow up so far. As of right now for being a four year old, you my son are well.

I was thinking earlier today about the fact that I haven’t had to put you in time out in a very long time. No spankings or even the threat of one. It’s pretty amazing. I’m not so naive to think that I won’t ever have to put you in time out again or even give you quick smack to your butt but it’s pretty incredible to see how you have “matured”, as much of as a four year old can be mature. In essence, I’m proud of you. I’m proud of the fact that time outs in school have been less and less recently and proud of how you have handled all the “Toby shuffling” that happens between your mother, Nanna and I.

I know that hard times will come. That if you live long enough on this earth that life will have some very hard moments. That if you let these moments take control it can lead to a very hard life. You my son are well. You are capable of handling whatever comes your way, no matter how great the strife. When you eventually handle the strife that finds you, I know I’ll be just as proud then as I am now. Stay well my son.

Love,
Friend Dad.

Leave a Reply

