Character

“I look to a day when people will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character” Martin Luther King Jr.

This quote stands out to me because of one simple reason, Toby Pebbles. For those of you who don’t know, Toby is tri-racial. He is half Korean, a quarter Caucasian and a quarter African-American. As someone who grew up Korean in a mostly white and black culture I faced a million questions from my eyes to my ability to play the violin (which is exactly zero). The questions had nothing to do with my character or who I was as a person but simply based on the color of my skin, the shape of my eyes, and my overall appearance. I know that Toby will face a million more questions that I have or will. I know that he will face racism from three sides. He will have Asians look down at him because he is mixed, he will have both blacks and whites look down upon him because he is mixed. My prayer is that he will be strong enough to endure the questions, the criticisms, the stereo types and the racism. If he endures all this, then the one area they will not have to question is his character.

3 thoughts on “Character

  1. It’s amazing his we can live in a world that still suffers from so much discrimination. Here in south Florida at least isn’t as bad as further north. Possibly because of the amazing amount of tourists (I never would’ve thought I’d be thankful for tourists lol!)

    Great post Nate! Hope more folks out there can be less ignorant and open their eyes to realize we are all the same under our skin and the culprit, melanin, is but a few millimeters deep. That’s it.

  2. “Melanin, is but a few millimeters deep”
    How powerful that is. We know that our ignorance is usually passed down and all the tools you have learned will be passed to your own. I bet he will be stronger than you can imagine.

Leave a Reply

