Dear Toby, (9/23/13)

Dear Toby, (9/23/13)

I just put you to bed once again. When I told you I would lay down with you for a minute you said “great!” Honestly, that’s the first time I’ve heard you use that word on your own. It’s great to watch you grow up. Seems like every day you learn a new word or you fit a word into the right contexts.

Tonight you were a little sad. When I asked you what was wrong you said you were afraid of zombies. Parents always wonder what their kid might be stressed about or worried about and it’s things like zombies and where your latest toy is. It seems trivial to us but it’s so important to you.

I told you I would take care of you and keep you safe from the zombies. Honestly, that seems like the only thing I can keep you safe from. This world is unpredictable. It’s harsh and it can be cruel. You’re only three right now. I can protect you from zombies and monsters that aren’t real. It’s the what’s real that scares me. Things I won’t always be able to protect you from. The best that I can do is shield you from some of this realities and let you just worry about zombies and monsters for a little while longer.

Love,
Friend Dad

Leave a Reply

