My rules

There is a common “getting to know you” question that pops up from time to time. It’s a question I love and hate. I love it because it has to do with food. Hate it because it almost always messes with how you view food. The question is “if you only had to eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?”
Seriously? I think that any food, no matter how good it is or how well it’s prepared would get old after awhile. You would eventually get sick of it. That at some point you would probably learn to hate it. I love fried chicken. If it was the only good I ate for the rest of my life chances are I would either die of a heart attack or starve because I would get sick of it.
Too much of one thing can be bad. You get overloaded. The “thing” loses it’s effectiveness. If you are a football team and you run the ball over and over and over and never pass, well eventually the defense will just play to stop the run. It’s the chance of a pass on any given play that makes the run game effective.
Another example is apologies. For me, too many apologies just lose their effectiveness. If you apologize a hundred times over and over, it doesn’t make you more sincere. I would much rather have you apologize once and mean it, than apologize a hundred times and kinda mean it. Constant apologizing makes me wonder, why? Why are you apologizing again? Did you not mean it the first 99 times and some how this 100th time is suppose to make a difference?
I personally don’t apologize much. Mostly because I believe if you are going to apologize then you should mean if. If you don’t mean it, don’t apologize. I hate when individuals apologize because it’s “the right thing to do”. Honestly, I kinda see it as a form of lying. You are saying something you don’t really mean.
The final issue I have with apologize is a lack of change. If you are apologizing over and over for the same things then it brings into question how sincere are you? It seems pointless to apologize or accept someone’s realize that this all seems very cynical and ridged but I think that there should be rules for apologizing and doing it correctly. Maybe there are rules, I dunno. Regardless of what else is out there here are my rules:
1. Apologize once
2. When you apologize, mean it.
3. If you don’t mean it, don’t apologize.
4. Make an effort to change.
Maybe it’s just me and wanting rules and guidelines. Maybe apologize are too complex to have rules. Maybe none of this makes sense, but these are my rules.

Leave a Reply

