“I dunno”

I’m sitting in my recliner and Toby suddenly climbs up with a quarter of a peanut butter & jelly sandwich in one hand. He throws himself down back first into me and then begins to stretch out over my body. He looks up at me with a mouth full of food. I ask “What are you doing??”
For some some idiotic reason I expected an intelligent answer but instead he responded “I dunno dad.”

This situation plays out in countless ways. He tosses grapes on the floor. “What are you doing??”
“I dunno dad.”

Smashing his Woody doll into the side of the tv:
“What are you doing??”
“I dunno”
(This one he smiles as he says it)

Throwing sand up in the air and then looking up, crying when the sand gets in his eyes, then does it again:
Third time he does it – “What are you doing??”
“I dunno”

Sometimes I have to stop and laugh because here I am expecting some sort of intelligible answer from him. I expect him to explain himself or give me some reasoning on why he is doing what he is doing. Then I remember he’s 3yrs old. Then I remember I’m 31yrs old and there are legitimate times when I do things and I have no idea why I did them.

I came home yesterday with every intent of going grocery shopping. Even told Toby on the way home from daycare that we were just going home long enough for me to change my shirt and get him milk. I came home, went and changed my shirt, emptied my pockets, got Toby milk and then drove to the store. We get about four things in the shopping cart when I realize that I emptied my pockets, which included my wallet. Why?? Why Nate did you take out your wallet? Did you change your shorts? Nope. Did you need your wallet at home?? Nope. Then why? “I dunno”

2 thoughts on ““I dunno”

  1. Sounds like such a cute little character.

    We do the same thing… Never really know the reason why we do things so yep, dunno seems very appropriate.

Leave a Reply

