Dear Toby, (4/17/13)

From time to time I’ve been writing letters to Toby. My first one I posted was “You and Me”. This is just another letter I thought I’d share. It will be an awesome day when I finally get to give him these letters.

Dear Toby, (4/17/13)

It’s been a few days since I’ve written you. Thought I would take this time and talk to you about doing the right thing. First, many times doing the right thing can suck. Sometimes it’s the hard way and not the easy way. The easy way would be to give into peer pressure, bullying, and negative thoughts. The hard way, the right way is to walk away from that stuff. You may even have to walk away from friends and even family to do the right thing.

Now I know it sounds weird because I just told you to walk away from things. However, sometimes you have to step up. Take responsibility for your actions, no matter what the price. If you mess up no matter if its big or small, take ownership, don’t try and put off on someone else, thats called being a coward. Sometimes you have to step by sacrificing what you want for the betterment of someone else. You may have to protect or stand up for someone who can’t stand up for themselves. If this is ever the case know I’ll never fault you for fighting for them. Like I said, sometimes doing the right thing sucks.

So what’s the pay off? Your mind. You do the right thing, you can sleep at night. Breathe easier. See when you don’t do the right thing, it plagues you. Haunts you even. It will weigh on you mentally, which will eventually weigh on you physically.

It’s so important you know this. There are a lot of crazy things going on in this world. Bombings, shootings, rapes, stealing, you name it its happening. The only way to keep your head above water is to do the right thing.

Please know, I’ve tried my best to do the right thing. I know, that you will make mistakes. That you’ll give in from time to time. That you may even cower. Know that there is always hope to make things right. To do your very best despite the odds or what’s facing you. At the end of the day, if you can come home and say you did your best to do the right thing, you should have nothing to be ashamed of. This is my best explanation of what it means to be man. I’m proud of you already for so many reasons.

Love,
Friend Dad

Leave a Reply

